To; Local Electoral Boundary Committee

Submission on behalf of Drumshanbo Branch Fine Gael

Secretary; Sean Wynne

On behalf of our branch members we would like to propose the following proposal for Co Leitrim.

In 2013 the then committee in their report proposed 3 areas with 6 seats namely Ballinamore, Carrick-on-Shannon and Manorhamilton . We were very disappointed that part of our parish contained within the Leitrim DED was placed in the Carrick-on-Shannon MA where the remaining part was included in the Ballinamore MA. In this submission we propose to deal with this anomaly from 2013.

Drumshanbo, Kiltubrid and Ballinaglera areas are closely connected through community linkages & football clubs (especially underage). Our proposal keeps these 3 areas together they include; Yugan, Drumreilly east and west, Barnameenagh, Aghacashel, Moher, Kiltubrid, Drumshanbo, Leitrim, Keshcarrigan and Leitrim which we believe is well within the spirit of point no. 6;

"taking due account of local and community identities and linkages as well as natural boundaries and the need to facilitate the effectiveness of the governance and representational roles of elected members"

There maybe a temptation to leave the Ballinaglera area (Drumreilly east and West & Yugan) with the Ballinamore MA however it is worth pointing out that Ballinamore is divided with Ballinaglera by the Sliabh an Iariann mountain and has natural linkages to Drumshanbo.

As Carrick-on-Shannon is the county town we propose that a new 7 seat area be created to include Yugan, Drumreilly east and west, Barnameenagh, Aghacashel, Moher, Kiltubrid&Drumshanbo. We further propose to add Rinn and Beihy to Ballinamore MA this reunites the Gortlettragh parish with the other DEDs in the Ballinamore MA (Cattan and Keeldra). Finally we propose to add Roosky and Cashel into the Ballinamore MA to achieve population numbers balance and within the variance as allowed under the terms of reference and means Ballinamore becomes a 5 seat electoral area and MA.In conclusion we propose that Manorhamilton remain as a 6 seat electoral area and Municipal Authority.

I thanks you for your consideration of this submission,

S. Wynne, Secretary.

Area	Seats	Population	+- variance
Ballinamore	5	8,485	-4.6%
Carrick-on-Shannon	7	12,738	2.2%
Manorhamilton	6	10,821	1.3%
	18	32,044	

;Total Population		32,044	
Per member		1,780	

	1		
Carrick-on-Shannon	7 Seats		
Carrick-on-Shannon	Annaduff	225	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Barnameenagh	147	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Breandrum	253	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Bunnybeg	153	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Carrick-on-Shannon	4,080	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumard	206	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumdoo	303	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumod	869	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumreilly East	47	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumreilly West	120	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumshanbo	1,389	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumsna	685	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Gortnagullion	292	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Gowel	325	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Keshcarrigan	489	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Kiltubbrid	153	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Leitrim	1,224	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Moher	221	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Mohill	1,258	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Yugan	222	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Aghacashel	77	
	Total	<mark>12,738</mark>	<mark>2.20%</mark>
Ballinamore	5 Seats		
Ballinamore	Aghavas	322	
Ballinamore	Ballinamore	1,107	
Ballinamore	Beihy	332	
Ballinamore	Carrigallen East	300	
Ballinamore	Carrigallen West	563	
Ballinamore	Castlefore	260	
Ballinamore	Cattan	237	
Ballinamore	Cloone	336	
Ballinamore	Cloverhill	345	
Ballinamore	Corrala	246	
Ballinamore	Corriga	142	

Ballinamore	Drumreilly North	158	
Ballinamore	Drumreilly South	146	
Ballinamore	Fenagh	392	
Ballinamore	Garadice	530	
Ballinamore	Gortermone	270	
Ballinamore	Greaghglass	260	
Ballinamore	Keeldra	179	
Ballinamore	Killygar	126	
Ballinamore	Lisgillock	186	
Ballinamore	Newtowngore	242	
Ballinamore	Oughteragh	91	
Ballinamore	Rinn	370	
Ballinamore	Riverstown	240	
Ballinamore	Rowan	247	
Ballinamore	Stralongford	72	
Ballinamore	Roosky	616	
Ballinamore	Cashel	170	
	Total	8,485	-4.60°
Manorhamilton	6 Seats	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	
Manorhamilton	Aghalateeve	67	
Manorhamilton	Aghanlish	156	
Manorhamilton	Aghavoghill	45	
Manorhamilton	Gubacreeny	736	
Manorhamilton	Kinlough	983	
Manorhamilton	Melvin	166	
Manorhamilton	Tullaghan	699	
Manorhamilton	Arigna	23	
Manorhamilton	Ballaghameehan	195	
Manorhamilton	Belhavel	239	
Manorhamilton	Cloonclare	178	
Manorhamilton	Cloonlogher	285	
Manorhamilton	Drumahaire	1,524	
Manorhamilton	Drumkeeran	465	
Manorhamilton	Garvagh	157	
Manorhamilton	Glenade	172	
Manorhamilton	Glenaniff	167	
Manorhamilton	Glenboy	239	
Manorhamilton	Glencar	256	
Manorhamilton	Glenfarn	132	
Manorhamilton	Killanummery	374	
Manorhamilton	Killarga	69	
Manorhamilton	Kiltyclogher	207	

Manorhamilton	Lurganboy	415		
Manorhamilton	Mahanagh	296		
Manorhamilton	Manorhamilton	1,892		
Manorhamilton	Munakill	169		
Manorhamilton	Sramore	390		
Manorhamilton	St. Patrick's	125		
	Totals	<mark>10,821</mark>	<mark>10680</mark>	1.30%